Scholarship Night

Scholarship Night
Posted on 05/14/2019
This is the image for the news article titled Scholarship NightScholarship nightScholarship NightScholarship NightScholarship NightScholarship NightScholarship NightScholarship Night
The Indian Lake High School Scholarship night was a tribute to student accomplishments, highlighting the character of our young people and the true family atmosphere at ILHS. 

More than 50 area organizations, school groups and individuals handed out handshakes, hugs and 167 scholarships worth over $149,000. 
Near the end of the evening, ILHS math teacher Troy Shively presented the Indian Lake Education Association Scholarships to three young ladies who plan to become teachers. In an emotional speech, 
Shively thanked the students and Indian Lake Schools as a whole for the support of his family when his wife, fellow ILHS math teacher Amber Shively, was diagnosed with breast cancer last summer. 
Shively said ILHS is a family, "During our darkest days I have seen the beautiful hearts that these people have...I know these students will teach people to have love in their hearts."
The recipients were Ashlyn Huffer, Anna Peterman and Caitlyn Young. 
In addition, Hanna Hogue spoke in tribute to her father for the first time at the Scholarship Night event. Longtime ILHS teacher Russ Hogue passed away from cancer in 2006 when she was just 5 years old. As a 2018 ILHS graduate, Hanna said, "I see dad in all of you. You don't let anybody tell you who you are going to be." The Russ Hogue Memorial Scholarships went to Kelly Shoffner and Caleb Taylor. 
Another highlight of the evening was when retired music teacher Judy Grubbs brought her "second generation" Stingers on stage. The parents of many scholarships recipients from the evening were members of Grubbs' show choir as young students. 

ILHS recipients honored at the event were: Raina Amstutz, Lindsay Berg, Justin Collins, Ethan Cummins, Laura Downey, Tyreasha Draper, Belle Elliott, Deanna Fry, Anna Marie Harford, Ashlyn Huffer, Tiana Hughes, Caleb Knief, Taylor Mackesy, Anna Peterman, Britney Pond, Colin Powers, Regan Purk, Olivia Reasor, Amber Seeley, Kelly Shoffner, Caleb Taylor, Catherine Thomas, Emaleigh Wallace, Caitlyn Young and Jacob Zarnosky.
The entire scholarship total from all local dollars, plus awards from colleges and universities for the ILHS Class of 2019 is more than $380,500. 
All scholarship recipients will be designated at ILHS Graduation Ceremonies on May 19th at 2 pm.