ILHS Scholarship Night 2024

ILHS Scholarship Night 2024
Posted on 05/14/2024
This is the image for the news article titled ILHS Scholarship Night 2024
Scholarship NightChloe Hodge Scholarship Recipients
Indian Lake High School Scholarship Night
2024 was emotional for many as presenters acknowledged all that this class has been through during their final year in school.
Through the loss of two friends in the class below them and the March tornado, they have adapted, adjusted and shined. 
Before presenting the IL Education Association Scholarship, ILHS math teacher Troy Shively thanked the seniors for all they have done for our community in the days and weeks after the storm. 
"You are one of the greatest classes to ever come through this school. You stood up when people needed to stand up. So I want to thank you for that. And if you are the future of our community, we're gonna be great--really great."
Early in the program, the family of Chloe Hodge presented the first scholarships in her honor. Chloe was killed by an impaired driver in a late January automobile accident. She was an ILHS junior studying in the Health Careers Academy at Ohio Hi Point with hopes of becoming a nurse.  
Stepfather Brady Baier said, "The scholarship was created to honor Chloe and provide further educational assistance to those with a desire to help others."
Seniors Devin Rice and Seth Thornburgh are the inaugural recipients of the $1,000 scholarships. Rice will attend Muskingum University to become a hospice nurse and Thornburgh will attend Hocking College to pursue a degree in Fire and Emergency Services. He is already a volunteer firefighter with the Huntsville Department. 

The ILHS Class of 2024 earned 244 local scholarships totaling $260,000.

All the money awarded was either raised or specially set aside locally for area student scholarships. 55 recipients received awards at the event. They are: Victoria Austin-Onyema, Victory Austin-Onyema, Alex Barhorst, Carson Barth, Ashlynn Beiderman, Rebecca Bihn, Annie Braig, Madison Brentlinger, Callie Burba, Eva Carney, Ryan Culp, Morgan Dague, Porscha Davis, Haylee Edwards, Maddux Hall, Sydney Hamilton, Emily Harford, Savannah Hill, Hannah Hoffman, Samantha Johnson, Taylor Karbowiak, Savannah King, Burke Lillard, AdeLynn Martin, Grant McPherson, Hailey McKinney, Hannah Metzger, Isaac Meyers, KaiLea Miller, Autumn Miller, Makayla Motter, Ellie Mouser, Logan Murphy, Carlie Nickel, Caiden Nicol, Riley Rash, Maggie Reese, Landan Rex, Devin Rice, Katie Roby, Tori Roby, Massie Romanowski, Amelia Schmiedebusch, Kayla Schwaderer, Kaitlyn Shaner, Marissa Shields, Ava Shroyer, Gillian Taylor, Seth Thornburgh, Lane Tucci, Camdon Tuttle, Carmyn Weiner, Heath Wilson, Emery Wagner and Kayleigh Zedlitz

All scholarship recipients will be designated at ILHS Graduation Ceremonies on May 24th at 7 pm.